top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturecharlottearculus

Tcam development

Updated: Aug 30, 2019

I wanted to develop a camera that children could use to show their world. I didn't want to attach a camera to children and a hand-held camera would be too problematic with two-year-olds. I developed Tcam to be kind of character in its own right. I used cheap wireless technology in the #1 version and am currently developing #2 which will use a gopro. The wireless feed goes to an iPad and can go onto a projector or smart screen. I like to use lengths of silk and large fabric covered hops to play with projection and shadow. The tiny can become huge. I will spend time with children and team before my fieldwork session so that they become familiar and creative with what tCam does.

Footage from the #1 was used by Dr Christina Macrae and I as part of our symposium at the Digilitey conference in Manchester March 2019. The footage shows an extraordinary dance between children and elastic.










bottom of page